Skip to main content
Add Me To Your Mailing List

University of Kentucky Varsity Letter Association



Since 1961, the K Club has been home to an exclusive group of former UK athletes and honorees. All men and women who earned varsity letters in one of the twenty-two varsity sports from the University of Kentucky are eligible as well as varsity cheerleaders and dance, managers, trainers, and special inductees.

Our membership is comprised for a unique, elite group of men and women who want to stay in the game, cherish their sports commitment, and nurture the legacy they helped develop.

Join others that have made that same commitment. Connect with other past, present, and future varsity letter wearers to preserve and promote that special Wildcat bond. Membership dues support opportunities to celebrate a wide array of sports with a diverse group of male and female athletes from yesterday and today.

Stay in the game, remain committed, and be a part our exclusive group. K Club is your team for keeps.


K Club is dedicated to preserve and promote the rich traditions of the University of Kentucky and cherish the sports legacy we worked so hard to create. Our goals are simple:
  • To provide social and networking opportunities for active K Club members
  • To both encourage and support student athletes who now have or may earn a varsity sports letter, and promote the benefits of membership
  • Operate in tandem with community leaders and use our influence to positively impact a limited number of charitable organizations


It all started May 1961, in a conversation in Paintsville, KY, between Frank Seale and Robert Montgomery. The theme – an association of K-Men – to promote and develop fellowship among varsity lettermen – to aid and assist the University of Kentucky and its athletic program consistent with the SEC and NCAA rules and regulations – to equip, furnish and maintain a K-Men’s Room on the UK campus – to have an annual K-Day at some varsity event.

This dream was discussed with B.A. Shively, Athletics Director, in June 1961, and a small group of lettermen were invited to a Dutch treat luncheon. Plans were discussed, ideas exchanged – and in August, 1961, B.A. Shively directed a letter to all K-Men for whom addresses could be obtained announcing that the Kentucky-Florida State football game on Nov. 4, 1961, had been designated by the University Athletic Department as K-Day.

The second K-Day was Sept. 22, 1962 (UK vs. Florida State). President Frank Dickey and Athletics Director B.A. Shively welcomed all K-Men. Coach Charlie Bradshaw was the guest speaker. Following the luncheon, the K-Men went into executive session and formally adopted a constitution to be known as the K-Men’s Association. The following officers were elected: President-Frank Seale; vice-president-Harry Ulinski; secretary-Dick Rushing, and treasurer- Carl “Hoot” Combs. The third K-Day was set as Sept. 21, 1963 (UK vs. VPI).

On Jan. 19, 1963, the basketball lettermen met at a luncheon and formally adopted the same constitution as adopted by the football lettermen on Sept. 22, 1962. With the approval of football and basketball lettermen of the constitution, the following were duly elected as the first K-Men’s officers on Sept. 21, 1963:  President-Frank Seale; vice president-Wallace Jones; secretary-Dick Rushing, and treasurer-Carl “Hoot” Combs.

The Constitution has been so constructed that lettermen of all sports at UK may become members of this organization.

The Board of Directors in 1963 inaugurated the plaque “K-Man of the Year” award. In 1963, over $2,000 was received from K-Men to furnish a K-Room in the alumni house.

In 1963 the K-Men started the “Dollars for Scholars” program. This was a program where the K-Men sponsored a UK freshman football game and a basketball game to help some worthy student gain an education. Nine hundred dollars per year for four years (a total of $3,600) was awarded to the first student on June 1, 1964. This program remained in force for several years but has now changed whereby we sponsor the annual spring Blue-White football game and an early basketball scrimmage. The K- Men’s portion of monies received from these games is used to carry on our K-Men’s activities.

In June 1963, the annual K- Day Golf Tourney was started in Paintsville, Ky, with the great generosity of our beloved K-Man Dr. Paul B. Hall. K-Men from all over the USA met in this beautiful setting for two days of fellowship and golf. The members of the Paintsville Country Club furnish the carts and play with the K-Men. Bob Mullins and the Moonliters work diligently to furnish refreshments at Hole #6 and the outdoor picnic at Tee #11. The elaborate cookout of steak, lobster, and trimmings up the hollow is well known to those who have attended.

A K-House had been the dream of the organization for several years. A plot of ground near the new Commonwealth football stadium was obtained from the University.

A concerted drive was started to raise $100,000 from K-Members and friends. On November 12, 1976, the K-Men held groundbreaking ceremonies. The building opened in the fall of 1977 and has been the home of the K Club ever since.

Past Presidents


K-Man of the Year Recipients

1962-63 Frank E. Seale
1963-64 Frank E. Seale
1964-65 Richard A. Rushing
1965-66 Frank E. Seale
1966-67 Richard Mueller
1967-68 Jim Host
1968-70 J.T. Frankenberger
1970-71 Don C. Sullivan
1971-72 John Griggs
1972-73 Claude Hammond
1973-74 Al Cummins
1974-75 Eugene F. Meeks
1975-76 Bill Spivey
1976-77 Claude Hammond
1977-78 Jim LeMaster


1963 Frank E. Seale
1964 Frank E. Seale
1965 Bob Montgomery
1967 Frank Phipps
1968 Don Sullivan
1968 Dom Fucci – John Griggs
1970 Dr. Paul Hall – Adolph Rupp
1971 Don Sullivan – Gerry Calvert
1972 John Griggs – Don Sullivan
1973 Claude Hammond
1974 Len Preston – Meade Francis
1975 Rick Norton – Jack Crain
1976 Ed Tierney – Talbott Todd